Fire Commissioner Minutes July 13, 2020

Regular Commissioner Meeting
(minutes pending approval)


July 13, 2020

Commissioner Margeson called the Regular Fire Commissioners meeting to order at 7:00 pm. 

Because of COVID-19, the July 13, 2020 meeting was conducted virtually.

Present: Commissioners Margeson, Murphy, Crawford, Acting Chief Snell, Treasurer Davelaar, Secretary Kankaala, Matthew Enos, Jennifer Schofield, Rick Norrie, Sarah Banning, Barb Ohms, Juby Fouts, Tom Fouts, Deb Bear, Larry Pyke, Jessica Lynch

The minutes of June 8, 2020 were unanimously approved.

Treasurer’s Report: Beginning June Operating Fund cash balance was $75,999.07. Beginning June General Investment Fund balance was $12,016.70.  Beginning June Capital Fund cash balance was $102,844.83. Beginning June Capital Investment Fund balance was $33,948.85. Grand total is $224,809.45.

June expenses were $5,019.06. Payroll for June was $3846.50, and VFF stipends were $1,900.00 for a grand total of $10,765.56 in June expenditures. 

June revenue included $2,622.29 in taxes collected, $115.00 in donations, and $4.85 in interest. Total May revenue was $2,742.14.

District 17 Commissioners reviewed and approved the Treasurer’s Report, invoices, and firefighter stipends at their July 13, 2020 public meeting. Commissioner Murphy made a motion to accept the Treasurer’s Report, and Commissioner Crawford seconded; motion was approved unanimously. 

Open: none

Chief’s Report: See attached report for a list of drills and responses. 

Chief Gerry Francis has retired as of July 1, 2020. Lorraine Francis has retired as of July 1, 2020.

Old Business: None

New Business: Succession Plan for District 17 Fire Chief. The District 17 Commissioners appreciate the applicants submitted. Commissioner Murphy made a motion to offer Acting Chief Snell the new District 17 Fire Chief at the same compensation & benefits of the previous Chief. Commissioner Crawford seconded the motion. The motion passed. This will be Resolution 424.

District 17 Vision Statement. The District 17 Fire Commissioners have started the process of creating a vision statement for the Guemes Island Fire Department. The District 17 Commissioners have asked the residents of District 17 to submit input to a committee that has been formed with Commissioner Crawford, Chief Snell, & Lieutenant Enos.   

The next resolution will be 425.

The next regular meeting will be August 10, 2020 at 7:00 PM in the Fire Hall. 

The meeting adjourned at 7:19 PM.


Submitted by Eric Kankaala, Secretary



Skagit County Fire District 17



June 2020 Chief's Report

July 2020 Budget Report